

Oconee County Scenic Hwy Committee

415 S. Pine Street, Walhalla, SC 29691

Telephone: 864-638-4218

Minutes

Scenic Highway Committee Meeting: September 19, 2013

The Oconee County Scenic Highway Committee held a regularly scheduled meeting on January 10, 2013 at 3:00 PM in the Conference Room at 415 S. Pine St., Walhalla, SC 29691.

Members Present: Alan Boggs

Helen Grewe

Dave LaVere, Chairman

Phil Soper Bob Kennedy Staley Powell

Staff Present: Josh Stephens, Zoning Administrator

Matthew Anspach, Planner

Media Present: None

Item 1: The meeting was called to order.

Mr. Lavere called the meeting to order.

Item 2: Approval of Minutes from the February 21st, 2012 meeting

Mr. Kennedy made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Soper seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3: Introduction of New Members

Mr. Lavere welcomed the new members to the Committee.

Item 4: Review of Past Activities

Mr. Boggs the Committee's past activities. In particular, he described how the Committee was created and the process by which Highway 28 was designated a County Scenic Highway.

Item 5: Discussion of Ch. 26 Article 3 and Potential Future Projects

Mr. Anspach brief the Committee on the provision outlined in Article 3 of Ch. 26.

Mr. Kennedy stated that Highway 11 needs protecting. He also stated that protecting resources like Hwy 11 attract tourists which boost the local economy.

Ms. Grewe proposed that the Committee reach out to Clemson University for assistance.

The members discussed the creation of an awards program to recognize well maintained property along Scenic Highways.

Mr. Kennedy proposed that staff meet with Administration to work on a scope of work and action plan for the Committee to address the concerns of the Committee. The Committee agreed that this would be the appropriate action to take.

Item 6: Old Business

None

Item 7: New Business

Mr. Stephens presented the General Information & Orientation Booklet, as established by County Council in July.

Item 8: Adjourn

Mr. Kennedy made a motion to adjourn. Ms. Grewe seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The Committee adjourned at 4:10.